How grading works at Curtin University
Curtin grades standard coursework units on a fixed, university-wide numeric-band table: 10 (mark 100), 9 (90-99), 8 (80-89), 7 (70-79), 6 (60-69), and 5 (50-59) are all passing grades, awarded without Further Assessment. A unit outside these ranges is failed and recorded as F.
Curtin treats Grade and Mark as two related but separate things: the Mark is the raw 0-100 score, and the Grade is the decile/pass-fail label assigned on top of it. Where a unit carries a Hurdle Requirement, a student can be given a Fail grade (F-IN or FX) "even if they have obtained more than 50% of the marks available by completing other Assessment Tasks" -- so a Fail can, in that specific case, carry an otherwise-passing mark. Curtin's transcripts append the mark to the grade label in these cases (e.g. "F:35").
Curtin also publishes several administrative override grades layered on top of these bands: PX (Pass After Further Assessment) and FX (Fail After Further Assessment) both retain the originally recorded mark; F-IN (Fail - Incomplete/Insufficient Assessment) may be used instead of an ordinary Fail where required work wasn't completed or submitted; P is a pass designation the Academic Registrar may substitute for a student's original Grade/Mark in specific circumstances, with no percentage attached; and ANN (Result Annulled Due to Academic Misconduct) is imposed as an academic-misconduct penalty.
Source: Assessment and Student Progression Manual, PC17 'University Grading System' (eff. 10 Nov 2025), sections 2.1-2.7, 2.6.2, 2.10-2.14 — verified Aug 2026
How Curtin calculates the Study Period and Course Weighted Average (SWA/CWA)
Curtin University does not use a Grade Point Average. Its own policy states directly: "Curtin University will not use a Grade Point Average (GPA)." Instead Curtin calculates a Study Period Weighted Average (SWA) and a Course Weighted Average (CWA), using the formula: [Sum(Unit Credits x Mark)] / [Sum(Unit Credits)] -- each unit's raw percentage mark, weighted by that unit's credit points.
Both SWA and CWA include the mark for any grade/mark unit, including units that are failed, plus any mark recorded for an F-IN result, and a zero mark for any unit annulled for academic misconduct (ANN). Pass/Fail units, ungraded passes, withdrawn units, and units with an interim (not-yet-finalised) grade are excluded from both averages.
Source: Assessment and Student Progression Manual, PC18 'Calculation of SWA and CWA' (eff. 10 Nov 2025), sections 2.1-2.6, Schedule 2 — verified Aug 2026
Academic Status at Curtin: Good Standing, Conditional and Terminated
At the end of each study period, a Board of Examiners assigns every student one of three Academic Status categories:
- Good Standing -- as a minimum, the student attains an SWA of at least 50.00, passes more than 50% of their enrolled units, and passes all core units.
- Conditional -- the student is at risk of not achieving satisfactory course progress (for example: failing 50% or more of enrolled units, an SWA below 50.00, or failing a core unit) but may continue and re-enrol under conditions set by the School, Owning Organisation, or Academic Registrar. A Student Support Notification is issued.
- Terminated -- the student has not achieved satisfactory course progress (for example: remaining Conditional and then failing 50% or more of units, an SWA below 50.00, or failing any unit a second time). The student's place in the course is terminated, subject to review/appeal rights.
A student who fails a unit two or more times needs additional approval to re-enrol in it: a third enrolment requires Head of School (or Board of Examiners) approval; a fourth or later enrolment is at the Academic Registrar's discretion and requires a mandatory student statement.
Source: Assessment and Student Progression Manual, PC19 'Academic Status and Progression' (eff. 10 Nov 2025), sections 2.2, 2.6 — verified Aug 2026
Award with Distinction, Award with Honours and the Vice-Chancellor's List at Curtin
Award with Distinction is granted in recognition of outstanding performance in the course, determined via the student's Course (or, for a double degree, Award) Weighted Average -- Curtin's own policy does not state a specific university-wide CWA/AWA cut-off for this notation.
Award with Honours is earned either as the outcome of a year of study additional to a bachelor degree in a discipline, or as the outcome of an honours program studied concurrently with a normal pass degree of four years or more in a discipline.
A student's Academic Transcript may also carry a notation that they have been included on the Vice-Chancellor's List (with the relevant year and study period) -- Curtin's policy does not state the criteria for this notation in this document.
Source: Assessment and Student Progression Manual, PC18 s.2.5, PC23 s.2.4.13-2.4.15, Schedule 1 Definitions (eff. 10 Nov 2025) — verified Aug 2026
Credit for prior study and credit transfer at Curtin
Curtin recognises prior learning under the umbrella term Credit for Recognised Learning (CRL), which encompasses General Credit, Elective Credit, Credit Transfer, Designated Credit and Exemptions. Two forms are specifically defined: Automatic Credit, the transfer of equivalent/identical units from one Curtin course to another Curtin course, and Designated Credit, granted based on completion of an identical Curtin unit through a Curtin partner institution -- the identical unit appears on the student's Academic Transcript with its unit name, credit points and a grade/mark.
Units credited toward a course as Automatic Credit or Designated Credit are included in the Course Weighted Average (CWA) calculation using their recorded mark, the same as any other grade/mark unit.
Source: Assessment and Student Progression Manual, PC18 s.2.2.1, Schedule 1 Definitions (eff. 10 Nov 2025) — verified Aug 2026
Frequently asked questions
Can I save my semesters and track my average at Curtin University?
Can I add past semesters without entering every course?
Is my tracker data sent to your servers?
Is this Curtin University GPA calculator free?
Does Curtin University use a GPA?
No. Curtin's own policy states directly: "Curtin University will not use a Grade Point Average (GPA)." Instead, Curtin calculates a credit-weighted Study Period Weighted Average (SWA) and Course Weighted Average (CWA) directly from your percentage marks.
Source: Assessment and Student Progression Manual, PC18 s.2.6 (eff. 10 Nov 2025) — verified Aug 2026
What mark do you need for each Curtin grade, 10 down to 5?
10: 100. 9: 90-99. 8: 80-89. 7: 70-79. 6: 60-69. 5: 50-59. Any of these grades is a pass; a unit scored outside these bands is failed (F).
Source: Assessment and Student Progression Manual, PC17 'University Grading System' (eff. 10 Nov 2025) — verified Aug 2026
Why does a Curtin Fail sometimes show a mark like "F:35"?
Curtin tracks Grade and Mark separately. If a unit has a Hurdle Requirement (a specific task or standard a student must meet regardless of their overall mark), a student who doesn't satisfy it can be given a Fail grade "even if they have obtained more than 50% of the marks available" from other assessment. In that case the transcript shows the Fail grade together with the mark actually achieved, e.g. "F:35".
Source: Assessment and Student Progression Manual, PC17 s.2.6.2 (eff. 10 Nov 2025) — verified Aug 2026
What is an ANN grade at Curtin?
ANN (Result Annulled Due to Academic Misconduct) is a penalty imposed after a finding of academic misconduct in a unit. It counts as a zero mark in your SWA/CWA. It stays on your academic record for at least 12 months, after which you may apply to have it converted to a Fail (F:00 for grade/mark units) -- a request the Academic Registrar can refuse, for example if you have more than one misconduct finding.
Source: Assessment and Student Progression Manual, PC17 s.2.11-2.14, PC18 s.2.1.3/2.2.4 (eff. 10 Nov 2025) — verified Aug 2026